top of page
Stay In The Know:

DIY Wire Copper Basket


Okay, I am not going to pretend that this was an easy project, but I will say that it was definitely worth the blisters!

I saw a similar copper basket while walking through Michaels craft store. I loved it, but honestly, if I came home with one more unnecessary purchase I'd get the disappointed head shake from the husband. I figured I could just make it instead.

Materials:

square chicken wire

copper spray paint

wire cutters

Needle-nose Pliers

Thick Gold Wire

Step 1

I measured out a square 6 in x 6 in on each corner of the squared chicken wire.

Step 2

Cut out the squares with the wire cutter. This step was not easy to accomplish with the worn out wire cutters like I was using.

Step 3

Fold up the sides of the basket and bend in the sharp edges to hold the sides in place. This was definitely the most tedious step of them all. you have to make sure that you have everything bent the way you want it before you spray paint. If you try fixing wires after it's already painted, the paint will scratch off.

step 4

The fun step! Spray paint the whole basket your desired color (in my case, copper).

Step 5

Now you can stop at the last step, or you can do what I did and add little gold handles.

I used the needle-nose pliers to cut and attached two gold wires to the basket to make handles.

And there it is...a wire copper basket!

It looked a little wonky and crooked when I finished, so I just placed some heavy paint cans inside to manipulate the shape. Other than that I am so happy with how it came out!

Happy Crafting!


bottom of page